EXCERPT OF “A LOVE SO DEEP”

Prelude

She was pushed hard against the wall in her dorm room and felt his hands encircle her throat. He began to squeeze hard and for the life of her she couldn’t get away from him. She had no choice but to look into his cold, hard eyes and succumb to the fact that he was indeed trying to kill her. How could she have been so wrong about him? She wondered. This was not the same man who had professed his undying love for her, made her feel special, and had promised her the world. Someone who claimed to love her wouldn’t be trying to kill her. She couldn’t figure out what had set him off. One minute they had been laughing and then when she had mentioned being pregnant, everything had changed. She was brought back to reality when he suddenly he let her go and she crumpled to the floor like a rag doll. She coughed violently and scrambled on her hands and knees to get away as fast as she could but he wouldn’t let her. He turned her over onto her back and stomped on her stomach.

She let out a shrill scream. “Ronnie, stop, please!” She begged helplessly. Couldn’t anyone hear her screaming? She wondered

“Shut up, Mahogany! You are not having this baby. Do you understand me?” He stomped on her a second time with his large Timberland boots.

She screamed again and curled into a ball. “Please, please, I’ll do anything! Just stop!”
He shook his head. “Not until you agree, Mahogany. Let me hear you say it.” He demanded from her
“No, I won’t agree to this.” She said stubbornly
His gaze turned deadly. “I don’t want a baby with you. Since you won’t agree then I will have to make sure you don’t have it then won’t I?” He lifted his foot again to stomp down on her but before he could, her door was kicked open.

Someone had come to her rescue. Thank God. She slowly lifted her head to see the other person in the room. Her friend, Jaleel had come to help her. She could always count on him.

“Ronnie, you’d better back the hell up or we are going to have a serious problem.” He warned
He couldn’t stand this motherfucker. He was always with his girl and interrupting their time together. His nostrils flared. “Dude, this is none of your damn business. Get the hell out of here!”

He snorted. “She is my business if you’re hurting her. Which by the looks of it you’re doing a pretty good job. This is the last time I will repeat this. Back up. Do it now.”
Who does this dude think he is? He walked up to Jaleel and got in his face. “And what if I don’t?” He challenged

Jaleel’s jawbone flexed. He really hoped he wouldn’t have to pummel this fool. “Mahogany, baby, get out of here now!” He commanded

“No, baby, you stay right there.” Ronnie countered

“Sweetie, don’t listen to him.” He said calmly. He saw out of his peripheral vision that she was trying to stand so she could get out of the room. Ronnie moved out of his face to grab her.

Before he could get to her, he grabbed him by his neck and hauled him up onto the wall. He took satisfaction in seeing this punk’s eyes widen like saucers. “Now, as I was saying, you need to leave her alone, and if you don’t, I will have a discussion with your father about your abuse. I’m sure the Director of Admissions would not like to be embarrassed. Wouldn’t you agree?”

He threatened. For the first time, Ronnie actually looked scared and he knew he had him. He slowly let go of him and let him fall to floor.

Ronnie struggled to say something. “Okay, I will leave her alone. Just don’t tell my dad anything.” He pleaded with him.

He smirked. “I won’t but if you aren’t a good boy then I won’t have a choice and don’t even think about trying to get your boys to jump me because I do have the evidence of the last time you abused her.”

Ronnie put his hands up and slowly backed his way out of her room. “Okay, okay, you have my word.”

“Jaleel” She called in a raspy voice.

He quickly went over to her and scooped her up in his arms. “Hey, hey, it’s alright. We need to get you to a hospital.” He said softly

“I know. He more than likely killed the baby. I’m so glad you came. I didn’t think anyone would come. How did you know what was going on?”

Baby? He had no clue that she’d been pregnant. He stroked her hair. “Well, I didn’t know at first. I was on a date. When I came back to my dorm room, my roommate told me that you’d called me and sounded frantic so I came right away. You know I’m always going to be here for you. I may have been a bit late but I’m here.”

She lifted her head to get a good look at him. “You’ve always been good to me. Thank you.” She whispered softly

For a moment, he lost his train of thought as he looked into her beautiful green eyes. He swallowed hard. “No problem. Just promise me that you won’t get involved with this chump again or anyone that will resort to hitting you.”

She held his gaze and wondered how she hadn’t see the love he had for her. It was too late now though. “I promise.” She vowed.

“Good. Now let’s get you to the hospital.” He said and carried her out of her dorm room.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

7 Comments

  1. Ooooh, new design, looks good. But, yeah, Ronnie had to go. He was acting a damn fool, lol. Now, is this story about Jaleel and Mahogany or this other person Matthew?

    Like

  2. Thanks. Yeah the story is about Matthew and Mahogany. Jaleel is his bestfriend. The intro gives way to understanding her trust issues because of what she went through with Ronnie

    Like

      • Well, since you asked….:) Because of what happened with Ronnie, she felt like it was too late for her to take a chance with Jaleel. Given what she’d just endured with her ex boyfriend and that left some deep scars which is further in the story but she does eventually give Matthew a chance.

        Like

    • LOL! I know right? Let’s just say…he does eventually get what’s coming to him in the story….LOL! There are so many twists and turns in this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

