QUESTION OF THE DAY

THIS IS ONE OF MY REFLECTION MOMENTS:
I HEARD SOMEONE ASK: WOULD YOU TALK  (GET TO KNOW SOMEONE WITH THE INTENT TO HAVE A RELATIONSHIP) TO SOMEONE THAT LIVES WITH A SIGNIFICANT OTHER? HMM, GOOD QUESTION. NORMALLY, I WOULDN’T PUT MYSELF OUT HERE LIKE THIS BUT SINCE I HAVE VICTORY OVER THIS AND IT’S BEHIND ME…I WILL TALK ABOUT IT. (S.N. IF YOU FEEL THE NEED TO JUDGE, THEN THAT’S BETWEEN YOU AND GOD BUT DON’T PUT THAT FOOLISHNESS ON MY BLOG)

BEFORE I WAS MARRIED, I TALKED TO A MARRIED MAN WHO QUOTE/UNQUOTE WAS GETTING A DIVORCE. NOW MIND YOU, THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME GETTING INVOLVED WITH SOMEONE WHO WAS MARRIED. I LIKED THE GUY AND WHAT HAVE YOU SO WE TALKED OVER THE PHONE (HE LIVED IN BALTIMORE AND OF COURSE, I WAS IN DALLAS). I HAD NO CLUE THAT HE LIVED WITH HIS WIFE. I ASSUMED THEY WERE SEPARATED AND LIVING IN SEPARATE HOUSEHOLDS. WHEN HE TOLD ME FINALLY (THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN MY FIRST CLUE THAT HE WAS KEEPING THINGS FROM ME), I STILL CONTINUED TO TALK TO HIM…WHY YOU ASK? WELL, I THOUGHT THAT THE FACT THAT THEY WERE GETTING A DIVORCE MADE IT OKAY FOR ME TO CONTINUE GETTING TO KNOW HIM…AFTER SOME TIME, I ACTUALLY THOUGHT THAT I LOVED THIS MAN AND MAYBE SOME PART OF ME DID BUT WHAT WE WERE DOING WASN’T RIGHT AT ALL…I EVEN WENT TO VISIT HIM IN BALTIMORE (STAYED FOR THE WEEKEND) AND HE CAME TO VISIT ME TOO IN DALLAS. CRAZY, RIGHT? I KNOW. SO AFTER THE LAST TIME THAT I SAW HIM, IT BECAME PLAINLY OBVIOUS THAT THE DIVORCE WASN’T GOING TO HAPPEN. HE KEPT PUSHING IT BACK BECAUSE HE COULDN’T BEAR TO BE APART FROM HIS KIDS, ETC. TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, WE EVENTUALLY STOPPED TALKING ALTOGETHER (GIVEN THAT HE WAS IN THE ARMY AND WAS DEPLOYED TO IRAQ).

I’M TELLING YOU ALL THIS BECAUSE IT WILL SHED SOME LIGHT ON HOW IT IS EASY TO GET CAUGHT UP IN THE WRONG THINGS, EVEN IF IT IS SOMETHING YOU NORMALLY DON’T CONDONE. NEVER IN A MILLION YEARS, DID I THINK THAT I WOULD BE INVOLVED WITH A MARRIED MAN BUT THAT’S EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED. GOOD THING, HE LEFT FOR IRAQ WHEN HE DID OR I WOULDN’T HAVE BEEN ABLE TO SEE CLEARLY. SO THERE IT IS…A PORTION OF MY LIFE THAT YOU KNOW ABOUT.  KNOWING WHAT I KNOW AND IF I WASN’T MARRIED, I WOULDN’T TALK TO NOR GET INVOLVED PHYSICALLY WITH SOMEONE THAT LIVED WITH A  SIGNIFICANT OTHER BECAUSE I WOULDN’T WANT IT TO HAPPEN TO ME…SOMETHING I WISH I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT ABOUT THEN…BUT PRAISE GOD FOR DELIVERANCE, GRACE AND MERCY. I DIDN’T DESERVE HIS GRACE AND MERCY BUT HE GAVE IT TO ME ONCE I DECIDED TO STRAIGHTEN OUT MY LIFE. I HOPE THIS ENCOURAGES SOMEONE…KNOW THAT EVEN THOUGH YOU MESS UP…IT ISN’T THE END OF THE WORLD….JUST DON’T MAKE IT A HABIT. BE BLESSED YA’LL!

Leave a Reply

